Wild About Africa

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My committments to ending violence agains women


When I was in an abusive relationship I felt oddly alone and unable to tell anyone about it. I was saved by a friend who snapped me to my senses and ugly, humiliating, shameful, and embarasing as it was, I  have never looked back. And so, it was the most natural thing in the world to share that strength with Anne when I found out she was also a victim of domestic violence, I could see she needed it. She is grateful now, but she wont  be able to appreciate it for years to come if at all. She keeps thanking me – as if I did something generous. I did not, I did what had to be done, it is right for women to help each other. There is no generosity in it, we need each other and should be ready to accept help from each other. But it can be hard sometimes.

After I discovered that tomorrow is White Ribbon Day for action on Violence Against Women, and after discovering just how prevalent violence against women is I decided to make some public personal commitments.

  1. Tell 100 friends (or more) about White Ribbon day –  on 25th November. Share through email, facebook, twitter
  2. Research facts and write at least 5 blog posts about it the issue – give gender violence a face
  3. Share resources on my blog and get at least 5 friends to write blogs about their personal stories
  4. Promote my friends stories on gender violence on my blog, facebook and twitter
  5. Help at least one friend/victim of gender violence – see blog post about Anne and Charlie
  6. Recognize amazing men and ask them to be role models to other men
  7. Support a local women’s rescue center

Just think if I can just save one person it will have been worth it

Help me magnify this impact, join me, tell your story on your blog, share mine on twitter or your blog,  advise me which womens rescue center to support. …………….

Before I sign off I want to recognize and thank Linda @meowtree who narrates her amazing work through blog and photos on educating youth in Mozambique. In her latest post on gender issues Linda chillingly narrates  ” I even heard one teenage girl in one of the nearby communities say “if it’s just one man, it’s not really a rape…. it has to be 3 or 4.”

Guys, we can stop this cycle of violence.

November 24, 2009 - Posted by | gender violence, Kenya, Relationships, spouse abuse, Women | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. UN Launches Campaign Aimed at Men to End Violence Against Women. (via VOA News)

    http://www1.voanews.com/english/news/UN-Launches-Campaign-Aimed-at-Men-to-End-Violence-Against-Women-72879372.html

    http://tinyurl.com/unendviolence

    It seems you are not the only one who thinks violence against women should end!

    Comment by JimMassUSA | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] } Yesterday I made commitments to 7  actions that I think will help raise awareness about Violence Against […]

    Pingback by White Ribbon Day Today – End Violence Against Women « Wild About Africa | November 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

